Scholarly Achievements

Steppingstone Scholars achieve remarkable things in and out of the classroom. Below is just a small sampling of their many successes.


Makeda Daniel at her graduation.

Makeda Daniel at her graduation

Jessica Ainooson (Beaver Country Day) is president of Model UN and an editor of her school’s newspaper.

Martina Albin and Samantha Pierre-Louis (Newton Country Day School) starred in the school’s musical, Gilbert and Sullivan: A Revue!

Nasteho Ali (John D. O’Bryant) was selected to serve as a representative for the Mayor’s Youth Council.

Kene Aniagboso (Boston Latin Academy) is interning at Massachusetts General Hospital through the MGH Scholars Program and is also a member of the National Honor Society.

Adrian Calderon (Beaver Country Day School) is part of Beaver’s Student Advisory Board.

Emily Castellanos (Newton Country Day School) received a Sacred Heart Goal II Award for her commitment “to educate to a deep respect for intellectual values.”

Sean Chanicka (Milton Academy) received the Milton Academy Henry Warder Carey ’39 Prize, which acknowledged his steady efforts, rigorous preparation, and concern for others.

Makeda Daniel (Lexington High School) was president of her graduating class and delivered a moving speech about embracing time, being fearless, and growing from failure.

Derek DaSilva being interviewed for NECN's "Making the Grade."

Derek DaSilva on “Making the Grade”

Derek DaSilva (Roxbury Latin) was featured on NECN’s “Making the Grade” segment on TV and did a great job representing Steppingstone!

Angela Duong (Buckingham Browne & Nichols School) started the club Hope for Justice, which promotes awareness of human trafficking.

Dayna Finnigan (Boston Trinity Academy) performed in her school’s production of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.

Jameia Greene (John D. O’Bryant) is interning at Massachusetts General Hospital through the MGH Scholars program. She is also part of MIT’s Amphibious Achievement initiative.

Ghiana Guzman (Newton Country Day School) received the Trudy Hennessey Award for “good sportsmanship and a positive spirit in all aspects of her life and the Sacred Heart Goal III Award for her commitment “to educate to a social awareness that impels to action.”

Sumaya Ibrahim (Beaver Country Day School) was elected to student council and continues her work developing online book templates for “Books for Peace.”


Paola Lagos with her science fair award

Paola Lagos (Jackson/Mann School) was awarded a top prize at Jackson/Mann’s science fair and went on to compete in the city finals!

Estelle Luong (The Rivers School) was selected to be part of the Rivers School Conservatory.

Yosmar Melo (Boston Latin School) is a member of the Talented and Gifted Latino Club at Boston Latin School.

Opeoluwa Olukorede (The Rivers School) was featured on WCVB Channel 5 News as an “A+ Student.” She now studies at Johns Hopkins University.

Dominique Pabon (Thomas A. Edison School) was selected to attend the 2017 Presidential Inauguration Leadership Summit.

Alex Palacios (Milton Academy) received the Jack Kent Cooke Scholarship over the summer.

Alejandro Samayoa (Boston Latin Academy) won a certificate of achievement for his hard work at Boston Latin Academy’s Science Fair! He won the award for designing the best project in his section.

Barbara Singhakiat (Thayer Academy) was awarded the New England Scholastic Press Association’s Individual Achievement Award. Barbara is studying at Hamilton College.

Yrvine Thelusma (Newton Country Day School) was selected by the Boston Chapter of Advancing Women in Transportation to attend the Transportation YOU Youth Summit in Washington, D.C.